Kings, Chess and Mozart

Kings, Chess and Mozart

Book Tickets

Saturday 12 May 20187:30pm Book Now
Kings, Chess and Mozart

Saturday, 12th May 2018

19:30 - 21:30

Oakham School Chapel, Oakham
Chapel Close, Market, Place, Oakham, LE15 6DT

Paul Hilliam - conductor

Anne Bolt - piano


Walton, Prelude to Richard III

Mozart, Piano Concerto No. 20 K466

Bliss, 'Checkmate' - Ballet Suite

Full price: on the door £13, in advance £11
Concessions: on the door £11, in advance £9.
Children and students under 18, and students in full time education £3

Our Season's Finale takes us from Shakespeare's (and Leicester's) famous King in Walton’s 'Prelude to Richard III' to the emotion of Mozart’s dark and brooding 'Piano Concerto No. 20' with Anne Bolt as soloist. Mozart's D minor piano concerto is one of contrasts. The drama of the first movement is followed by the sublime Romance and then the lively Finale. The programme ends with the music Arthur Bliss wrote at the height of his powers in 1937 for his ballet ‘Checkmate’, which depicts the moves of Bishops, Knights, Kings and Queens as they clash in a dramatic game of chess. It is considered a cornerstone of the British ballet repertoire.

The Rutland Sinfonia welcomes wheelchair users to its concerts but so as to better prepare for their easier access and accommodation, if possible, we would be grateful if you could let us know you are planning to attend by emailing

The Rutland Sinfonia gratefully acknowledges the financial support of The Bliss Trust in putting on this concert.